Where can I find information about how cold certain growing regions were over the last few years? Specifically Oregon and Monterey.


Where can I find information about how cold certain growing regions were over the last few years? Specifically Oregon and Monterey.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I thought it would be fun to compare different vintages from the same style and producer as it relates to temperature and see if I found any common themes.

I have noticed 2014 Oregon pinots in the $20- $30 market have a far stronger cola flavor than 2013s. Could this be due to 2014 being a hotter year?

Second question: I'm from Florida. We don't grow wine grapes here, but in my region this year we basically didn't have winter. I was wearing shorts and a tee almost every day except for one weekend it got cold. Do incredibly mild or severe growing seasons happen on the west coast. I can't imagine an entire region's crops failing. But when it got below 60°F only a few days this winter I have to wonder what a similarly unusual season would do to wine grapes (if you basically lost a season as we did and went from fall to spring or spring to fall).

Submitted February 15, 2017 at 06:03PM by inputmethod
via reddit http://bit.ly/2l8Qn2h

Leave a Reply

