Help me build a “starter kit” for wine


Help me build a “starter kit” for wine

So I'm relatively new to the world of wine. Over the past few months, I've been trying to branch out and taste new and different wines. So far it's been good to me because I'm generally adventurous and always up to try new wines. But I know absolutely nothing about wine; the history behind it, the winemaking process, the different regions and varietals, etc. Which is where I need your expert help..

My birthday is coming up and I'm trying to build a "wine newbie kit" to help me learn. And also things that are generally useful for wine (good glasses, corkscrews, etc). So far I've got down: a nice Pulltap waiters knife, the Oxford Companion to Wine, some new glasses (as mine really suck), and a gift card to my favorite wine shop. What are some other things that I should add to my list? I'm particularly interested to read more about wines; any other books that may help a newbie get started? Thanks in advance!

Submitted February 26, 2017 at 10:54PM by smurfistal
via reddit http://bit.ly/2l0UoZN

Leave a Reply

