Coravin Issues?


Coravin Issues?

I got a coravin this past Christmas but I've been skeptical all the while. I saw a review by Parker saying it didn't negatively effect the wine at all, but I'm not so sure that's the truth. I've used it on about 5 different bottles and each time I either noticed a funk that takes 40 minutes or so to burn off or bits of material floating in the wine. Usually the stuff floating is just tiny pieces of cork so thats not a huge deal but last night something weird happened.

I had a great week so I poured myself a glass of The Mascot, by Harlan. The funk was on the nose right away so I figured I let it burn off for an hour or so. But I forgot about it and fell asleep. This morning I walk by the glass and notice what looks like an oil slick on the surface of the wine. I'm kind of a neat freak so I've ruled out dust or bugs or dog hair getting in the glass. I've left plenty of wine out before and I've never seen this.

I'm wondering if anyone else has had these problems and maybe an explanation as to what is on the wine. I'll attach a photo below. I'd love your opinions, thanks!

http://bit.ly/2mbrE19

Submitted March 17, 2017 at 06:31PM by Jmarkymark
via reddit http://bit.ly/2mDYsM4

Leave a Reply

