Distinctive cat pee aroma in chianti


Distinctive cat pee aroma in chianti

I picked up a bottle of 2011 La Spinetta Casanova Chianti DOCG tonight, and after my husband and I tasted it we agreed that it smelled and tasted very strongly of cat pee. (Okay, it tastes like cat pee smells, you know what I mean.) I see that this is a flavor often associated with sauvignon blanc, but I haven't ever encountered anything like it in a chianti or any other red. I know that there's a wine out there for everyone, but is this regarded as a desirable characteristic? Would decanting help?

Bottle photo

As close as I could come to vineyard tasting notes

Submitted April 01, 2017 at 05:29AM by omg_
via reddit http://bit.ly/2oszhgP

Leave a Reply

