Non drinker, advice needed for choosing a wine


Non drinker, advice needed for choosing a wine

Hi folks! I consider myself a good cook. I've been seeing this girl for a couple months, and for a myriad of reasons I've never actually had a chance to make dinner for her. I do know that she's a wine drinker, and prefers reds. I know (roughly) nothing at all about wine, I was raised mormon and have never drank wine, my only experience with it is cooking with it, and even then the recipe points you to exactly what you need.

So she's coming over tomorrow and I'm making dinner. I have two possible meals I can make, both are chicken based. I've had some chicken marinating in a mesquite mix I made for about 2 days, typically serve it grilled, with grilled asparagus and dinner rolls. That's kind of a backup plan though, my actual meal plan is basically a homemade sweet&sour chicken over rice. Has a little bit of white and brown sugar in it, vinegar, pineapples, green and red peppers, chicken. Basically your standard restaurant sweet and sour chicken, only awesome.

I'd like to pick up a bottle of wine since I know that's what she would like, so I'm looking for someone to point me in a good direction? Government salary, not looking to break the bank, but I also don't want to buy a box and look like a tool. Looking for someone to point me in a good direction, or just flat out tell me what to buy. Probably will just go to the grocery store for it, but there's a BevMo around here as well. I'd like to not spend more than like 75 bucks if at all possible, and that would be absolutely the most.

Also it occurs to me as I type this that I should probably buy a corkscrew.

Thanks in advance!

Submitted April 16, 2017 at 09:40PM by Aardvark1292
via reddit http://bit.ly/2pG9PnS

Leave a Reply

